Notes ~ Published on the International Kolkata Book Fair’s Website’12

At times when my nights became sleepless,

I tried to call out in the dark.

The Angel, the Devil everyone could hear me screaming,

And the lonely dog with its bark!

They could tell me the truth.

There is no sunshine, till I let it come,

Bursting through my window!

I could always hide it with the curtains,

Just like I did to the truth!

Fill up the entry form for me, my entry pass to hell,

I would rather live there than being in this cell.

Everyone tells me to hide my face,

Seemed easy to me as I remained in the darkness!

But that day everything changed,

Just like the rainbow after the rain.

It cleared my mind, my soul,

When that little songbird sang to me those notes!

Notes that led me towards the path of my destiny,

And the couch of comfortableness where I could loll!

After all these years of trying to be the perfect daughter, sister or friend,

It was time for me to change.

For myself, for that little songbird who taught me a lesson!

So I let the curtains flow,

Let the moon shine through my window,

I looked up in the sky through the window bars,

And I reached for the stars!

Memory

By Anamika Dutta©

One thought on “Notes ~ Published on the International Kolkata Book Fair’s Website’12

Leave a Reply

